For those of you that don't know, I worked at Wendy's for three years of my life. From the ages of 16-19. I started as a sandwich maker and by the time I left I was a Shift Supervisor; because I'm amazing. I digress, while I was at McDonald's today getting some much needed ice cream on my lunch break I noticed both the car in front of me and the truck behind me were two customers that would have made me angry if I was the one working the drive thru. I decided I wanted to make a list, for those of you that have never worked fast food before, of the things to NOT do when ordering from a drive thru.
- Your big, loud, annoying truck sucks. As soon as you hit the speaker box and we hit our headset to talk to you it is agony. Half of the time we can't even hear your order over your obnoxious vehicle. Therefore, if you have a tiny penis complex and need that big truck to show how big of a man you are, get out of your damn truck and go inside and order to-go.
- If your window does not roll down, please come inside. Nothing is more annoying that you opening and closing your door at every window and the awkwardness that not only occurs for us, but for you as well as we try to hand you shit and take your money.
- Know what restaurant you're at. Seriously. Are you doing that to piss us off? "I want chicken McNuggets." Great! Go to McDonalds. "I want a filet-o-fish." Again, go to McDonald's. "Can I have a whopper?" Now you're just being ridiculous. (All these happened to me)
- Have SOME inclination of what you want to order. If you don't, you need to get your lazy ass out of your car and come inside to stare at the menu. The minute you hit that speaker box a timer goes off on our end. We don't like to say "May I take your order please?" and have you go "Uhhh…. Hold on ok?" and then not order for 2 fucking minutes. You irritate us AND the cars behind you that have their money ready and they haven't even ordered yet.
- Do not pay with change in a drive thru unless your order is under $2.00. You want to pay for a $10 order in change? Come inside.
- After we have exchanged money for food and you have checked your order, please drive away. Don't adjust your hair, check your phone, put on make-up, or just sit there forever before driving off. Again, you're still on a timer AND you're annoying everyone behind you.
- Make sure you have enough money for what you want. I cannot tell you the amount of times people would order, find out the total and go "oh, I don't have that much. Sorry." And drive off. Our sandwich maker had already started making your sandwiches and now has to throw that away and now the register has to void out that order which not a lot of cashiers can do without a manager.
- Don't be a dick. This goes for anyone eating everywhere, not just fast food. We are human, we make mistakes. We get busy and the wrong sandwich gets grabbed. We sincerely apologize because we wouldn't want it to happen to us either – but don't.be.a.dick. Come in, state that you got the wrong thing and we will make you something new and fresh. Or, call and say "I just came in and my order was wrong." We will take your name and the next time you come eat we will give you your next meal/food item free.
I am sure there are more; but those are the ones that always made me the angriest. A drive thru is supposed to be convenient – but there are many times when people don't make it convenient to everyone else. If you don't agree with any of these, you've obviously never worked at a restaurant and you can just keep your mouth shut.
No comments:
Post a Comment