Friday, September 6, 2013

I need new shoes


Let me tell you about my shoe dilemma. In February of 2012 I was diagnosed with arthritis in both of my feet. It was really bad in my right foot. A scan and lots of doctor's appointments later showed me exactly what my running was doing to me. My doctor was not concerned about me continuing to run. In fact, that month I ran my first ever half marathon. The doctor had me fitted for custom inserts and I was to wear those whenever I ran. Long story short, I hated them. They made my shoes (pictured to the left) fit really funny, they changed my stride and I think they did more damage than good.
Later in the year I thought to myself, "Maybe if I get my shoe one size bigger that will help balance it all out." So I went to the local running center with my inserts and told the lady my problem. She had me try on a size 9 Asics with the inserts and they fit OK. I didn't have a lot of spare room but had enough so that it wasn't extremely tight.
After trying out the new shoes with the inserts I discovered that I was getting HORRIBLE shin splints when I ran and my feet were hurting even worse. What the hell, right? Why couldn't I find a happy medium? I ended up selling those shoes on eBay because I barely wore them and at this point was so fed up with the inserts I refused to use them. The shoes were WAY too big without the inserts. I then went to Scheels to see if I could find a minimal shoe that I liked because when I ran around in the backyard (even on pavement) with no shoes on I didn't hurt. I found a pair of Merrell's that I liked and were on sale for $60 so I got them. I did another half marathon in those shoes and did just fine! However, I have come to the conclusion that until I lose more weight, I will not do a minimal shoe because of the stress it puts on my legs, knees and feet. Therefore, I am now back to the Asics that you see pictured and I have had those bad boys since 2011 and have run a handful of 5Ks, 2 half marathons and did training in those. It is time to replace the shoes. Money is tight right now so I won't be getting them soon, but they are on the agenda for the future.
Last night as I was preparing to go out for a nice little walk/jog with Hyatt I remembered that I have a ton of running gadgets (because I love gadgets) and since I stopped running I hadn't used these gadgets in awhile so last night I pulled them out and got them ready as well. My poor Forerunner 210 was dead as could be so that had to charge for about an hour, my foot pod was buried in my gym bag (that had a layer of dust on it) and I needed to attach that and it took me almost 20 minutes to locate my HRM. Why did I stop running? I have so many cool things that track my runs and help me to get better and I just.... stopped. *sigh* I know this is a true story for a lot of people though and I am not alone.
*Side Note* It is difficult to lace up your shoes when you have a very interested cat next to you. 


He just wanted to help! So after I FINALLY got all of my gadgets arranged and ready I equipped myself with everything, strapped on the waist leash, got Hyatt hooked up and went out for my walk/run! It was still a bit toasty but Hyatt and I managed OK. We did a nice little loop. We left the apartment, went through the little neighborhood West of us and then jumped on the bike path to finish the loop. It looks funny on that little map! I am very glad we live in a place where I can just head out of the apartment and go. There are other bike paths I like in town, but sometimes you just want to go and get it done! I have other apps for tracking runs (Nike+ being the favorite) but RunKeeper works with my GymPact that I do and so I use it the most anymore. It isn't a bad app at all. For being free you can't really ask for anything more! The GPS is a little off, but that is why I wear my Garmin. I like to have a little more of an accurate pace and mile count. 
I miss running. I don't know why I ever stopped but I am kind of upset with myself for not keeping up with it. Once the habit is there it is like second nature. Starting all over again is not fun. Especially since I am heavier, slower and get winded faster. I was surprised to see that the times I did run I was still doing a sub 12 minute mile. That did shock me a bit. I thought for sure I'd be more around 13 to 14 minutes. So, I guess I didn't lose all of my hard work from the past! Now, to get back down to my goal weight and back to a sub 10 minute mile.................

WITH NEW SHOES!!! 

No comments:

Post a Comment