Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Things I Hated When Working Fast Food

For those of you that don't know, I worked at Wendy's for three years of my life. From the ages of 16-19. I started as a sandwich maker and by the time I left I was a Shift Supervisor; because I'm amazing. I digress, while I was at McDonald's today getting some much needed ice cream on my lunch break I noticed both the car in front of me and the truck behind me were two customers that would have made me angry if I was the one working the drive thru. I decided I wanted to make a list, for those of you that have never worked fast food before, of the things to NOT do when ordering from a drive thru.

  1. Your big, loud, annoying truck sucks. As soon as you hit the speaker box and we hit our headset to talk to you it is agony. Half of the time we can't even hear your order over your obnoxious vehicle. Therefore, if you have a tiny penis complex and need that big truck to show how big of a man you are, get out of your damn truck and go inside and order to-go.
  2. If your window does not roll down, please come inside. Nothing is more annoying that you opening and closing your door at every window and the awkwardness that not only occurs for us, but for you as well as we try to hand you shit and take your money.
  3. Know what restaurant you're at. Seriously. Are you doing that to piss us off? "I want chicken McNuggets." Great! Go to McDonalds. "I want a filet-o-fish." Again, go to McDonald's. "Can I have a whopper?" Now you're just being ridiculous. (All these happened to me)
  4. Have SOME inclination of what you want to order. If you don't, you need to get your lazy ass out of your car and come inside to stare at the menu. The minute you hit that speaker box a timer goes off on our end. We don't like to say "May I take your order please?" and have you go "Uhhh…. Hold on ok?" and then not order for 2 fucking minutes. You irritate us AND the cars behind you that have their money ready and they haven't even ordered yet.
  5. Do not pay with change in a drive thru unless your order is under $2.00. You want to pay for a $10 order in change? Come inside.
  6. After we have exchanged money for food and you have checked your order, please drive away. Don't adjust your hair, check your phone, put on make-up, or just sit there forever before driving off. Again, you're still on a timer AND you're annoying everyone behind you.
  7. Make sure you have enough money for what you want. I cannot tell you the amount of times people would order, find out the total and go "oh, I don't have that much. Sorry." And drive off. Our sandwich maker had already started making your sandwiches and now has to throw that away and now the register has to void out that order which not a lot of cashiers can do without a manager.
  8. Don't be a dick. This goes for anyone eating everywhere, not just fast food. We are human, we make mistakes. We get busy and the wrong sandwich gets grabbed. We sincerely apologize because we wouldn't want it to happen to us either – but don't.be.a.dick. Come in, state that you got the wrong thing and we will make you something new and fresh. Or, call and say "I just came in and my order was wrong." We will take your name and the next time you come eat we will give you your next meal/food item free.

I am sure there are more; but those are the ones that always made me the angriest. A drive thru is supposed to be convenient – but there are many times when people don't make it convenient to everyone else. If you don't agree with any of these, you've obviously never worked at a restaurant and you can just keep your mouth shut.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Getting Close to the Halfway Point

I'm about 18 weeks along now! I haven't blogged in a while and that is because life has been crazy. CRAZY. With our move, the air not working in 90º weather (thank GOD for home warranties), our washer and dryer not being installed properly and the stresses of moving in general…. We've been busy. Everything seems to be at the calming down point though and we are very happy with the house. I've even planted my small garden. In fact, I did that the third day we were there. I planted tomatoes, bell peppers, jalapenos, edamame, brussels sprouts, broccoli, cucumbers, and carrots. Oh! I even have a nice strawberry patch going. Very excited about those. I have never had a garden in my life. I have only ever had potted herbs. Mom always had a garden and I would steal her produce. Now, I will have my own AND I'll be able to steal stuff from her. Muahahaha.

Pregnancy Stuff:

Haven't taken a belly picture in a couple of weeks due to the craziness. I feel super pregnant and I know that it isn't going to get any better or easier. My stomach already gets in the way…. It's getting hard to give myself pedicures….

Cravings: Arby's roast beef sandwiches, vanilla ice cream with Hershey's chocolate syrup, milk, milk, and more milk. I go through so much milk right now. I'm happy about that though because I know it is good for me and baby C.

Feeling: HOT. Always hot. It is very rare when I am cold from too much air conditioning. Still nauseous in the mornings. I sometimes have to stop moving because the urge to throw up is so damn strong; even when I try to eat crackers or something. I am very thankful for Zofran.

Looking forward to: Finding out the gender! We go on July 14th! I honestly don't care one way or another. Andrew swears it is a boy though and since he is so excited about the idea of having a boy I would be happy to see him be right. I also haven't had any "feelings" about what it is. I know a lot of pregnant women are like "Oh, I knew it was a girl." Or "I felt it was a boy." Not me. I'm clueless. I'm also looking forward to feeling baby move for the first time. I know it can be around the next few weeks that I feel it and I'm sure it's happened I just didn't realize it but I do lay down at night and I'm real still and try to focus (not too hard) on that area to see if I feel anything and nothing just yet.

Other things: Andrew and I hired a doula. My wonderful friend from high school. I am so happy to have her and her support/advice for this pregnancy and she has already given Andrew and me lots of good ideas and plenty to think about! I'm very happy with this decision and Andrew was on board once he met with her and really understood what a doula does. He was skeptical at first. Haha.

Once we find out the gender I'll probably get more into baby planning mode and can make a registry. I'm ready to pick out paint for the nursery and decide on a fun color scheme! That room right now is very empty so it will be interesting to see it fill up with baby stuff.

Andrew and I are still on track with having my mom watch baby full time after I go back to work. I'm hoping Hy Vee will let her have night shifts so that she won't be too stretched for time. So far they have been very understanding with her schedule! Of course, there will be days where she cannot be there and I have an understanding enough employer that baby can either come here, I can stay home, or we can ask Andrew's family. There will never be a shortage of sitters!

The one thing I am stressing about right now is the Holidays. Since I'm having baby (or should be) right around Thanksgiving I am fairly certain that I will be doing NO traveling for Christmas or Thanksgiving. Obviously Thanksgiving is a no-no because I could go into labor at any minute… if I carry that long…. Or, I'll carry into December, have the baby, and not want to stress about carting a newborn all over town for Christmas. All I can say is that if people don't like it, too damn bad. I'm a new mom and will do what I think is right for me and baby. I love how overly protective I already am and this kid isn't even here yet. Ha!

Besides, this will be baby's first Christmas and that is so special for Andrew and me. I want to have a quiet Christmas Eve & Christmas morning at home with my little family. That's not too much to ask now is it?

Hmmm….pregnancy things are swarming my brain and I suppose that's normal, huh?

Friday, June 6, 2014

♥15 Weeks♥

♥15 Weeks and Counting♥

This week the hubs is eating a cookie....... 

Officially 15 weeks today!

Happenings: We meet with a doula tomorrow! I am so excited. The wonderful gal we are meeting with was a friend of mine in High School. With as scared as my husband is going to be during this whole thing I think a doula is a good choice for us. I'm excited to meet with her and have someone to guide me through the process in addition to my doctor. My doctor is completely cool with me having a doula as well!
*side note We can't close on our house on Monday. It has been pushed back to Thursday. I'm not a happy camper.... but I'm glad it's not being pushed back too far. I still have my movers scheduled for Friday. 

Feeling: Still ridiculously nauseous in the morning and at night. Today I had to eat some crackers before getting out of bed and I was still sure I would get sick in the shower. That seems to be my favorite place to puke these days..... however, I didn't get sick and I attribute that to the wonderful nausea medication I have. Thanks, doc! I'm not AS tired as I was before but I still get my moments where I fall asleep on the couch without meaning to. Work has been absolutely crazy busy and I know that doesn't help. 

Weight: Still haven't gained a pound. Score! Clothes continue to get tighter but the scale hasn't budged. It might be broken.... even so, I'm happy. Hahaha. 

Cravings: Ice cold lemon water. All day. Still craving tomatoes... salsa, tomato juice, fresh tomatoes eaten like an apple...... I have also been obsessed with cereal and Wendy's. Do not ask me why I crave Wendy's.... mostly I want a vanilla frosty but lately I've had a hankerin' for plain doublestacks and fries. Not healthy at ALL but it always sounds SO GOOD. I always eat breakfast, lunch, and usually one small snack during the day and by the time I get home at night dinner ends up being a plain hamburger, no bun..... and that's it. I don't eat at night.... I'm never really hungry and I never know what I want. 

Other than that things are going ok. My next OB appointment is on June 18. I think it is just a check up to see how I am but there won't be any kind of sonogram. Not until July when we do the gender scan!!