Amber sent me a text at 5:45am making sure I was awake. I was, I was in the bathroom getting dressing and brushing my teeth. Once I was dressed, I grabbed my Garmin and headed out the door.
![]() |
| Yes, I will in fact run for Cupcakes |
It.Was.Cold. I chose to go in the direction that would have the wind at my back for most of the run. I mapped a route that was a half mile loop and I would run it 6 times to get my 3 miles. I didn't want to stray too far from the well lit areas and this way I ran by my house in case I needed anything. I hate carrying a lot of stuff while running, so.... this was a nice option.
As you will see by my time and my splits... I am slow. I haven't run in two years so my body is going "Hey.... hey... wtf is this?!" I didn't overdo it. I listened to my body and walked when I needed to. I felt really good, I was really happy, and I am glad that Amber has helped me recommit to this.
HOWEVER, there is a glitch in my training plan. Early morning runs are not going to work I'm afraid and here are the two big problems:
- I'm slow. I'm not mad about that, I'm just out of practice and heavy. Therefore, 3 miles will take me close to an hour. That means 4 mile runs will be over an hour. I don't have that kind of time in the morning unless I want to be out the door by 5am and that's just not going to happen.
- Walter. Andrew said the minute I left he raised holy hell. That dog has separation anxiety. He would wake the baby. We were lucky this morning because Carson wasn't home.
When I get myself down to about a 10 minute mile, I could do early mornings. I would just have to make sure Walter is either with Andrew when I leave, or put him outside. I just can't do that until it's warmer.
My plan is to run after Carson goes to bed at night. I will have Andrew to give me that extra nudge to get my ass out there. Plus, I can always rely on Amber. So, evening running it is!
Once I got done with my running I fueled my body with some delicious vegan pancakes (from my Thug Kitchen cookbook) with my homemade strawberry syrup and some chia seeds. I also had some green tea.
All in all, I am really happy with how my body handled this run considering I've been inactive for so long. I am looking forward to improving dramatically over the next 10 weeks! We all know I'm a nerd and love the data!
Also, I did cancel WeightWatchers. I'm not tracking and following it as I should. Plus, with doing Financial Peace University (again) I am cutting back on as many monthly costs as I can. That's $20 a month back in my pocket. That's $240 a year, people. Instead of following that or counting calories (because that makes me crazy), I am focusing on QUALITY of food over QUANTITY. So far this has been working well for me. I'm eating a mostly vegetarian diet and trying quite a few new vegan things. All I know is that I feel so much better when I have a plant based diet and it will help my body to recover faster after runs. It will also help me to improve.
Oh! And weight stats:
Starting Weight for Training: 246.3
Pounds lost since 12/4/14 (After Carson's birth): 38.1




I am so happy for you taking this step. I need to be joining you on that run. I am heavier than I have ever been in my life, including pregnancy. I am not motivated. I, too, would like to do a vegan diet. That was on my list of goals for this year. As are many other things. So way to go Becky, and keep up the good work. It's so hard but you have so much going for you. You will do this, I know. Love to you, Carson and Andrew.
ReplyDelete