Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I Have Forgotten What it is Like....

... to feel normal. Seriously.
Sorry for the uber long hiatus. I have been living in my bed since last Tuesday evening. After we ate dinner I started to get a horrid sore throat. It hurt to swallow. So I did a little searching on line and guess what? Preggo people aren't really supposed to have cough drops..... or unpasturized honey.... or really anything that helps with a sore throat. I was angry and feeling like shit. I went to the doctor first thing on Wednesday morning and they did a strep test. Thankfully it wasn't strep. She said I had an upper respiratory infection (URI) and that I could take regular Robitussin for the cough and Tylenol for any pain. I wasn't thrilled but at least it was something.
So on top of feeling bloated, nauseous, and constantly riddled with heartburn I got to add on a sore throat, runny/stuffy nose, coughing, and an aching body. Fun stuff, huh?
I ended up calling back in to the doctor on Friday because I still felt awful, possibly worse, and she finally prescribed a Z Pack. YAY! I can tell you right now that after taking the first two pills I felt SO.MUCH.BETTER. I was able to actually move from the bed to the couch on Friday and my wonderful mother came over to help with laundry and get stuff cleaned up a bit.
Saturday, I felt even better and I showered AND put make up on. WOW!
Sunday, still had a shitty cough, but again was able to get cleaned up and beautified and spent the day with Andrew. (we looked at houses!)

Now, my report for today on how I am feeling: horribly nauseous and dizzy. Score.

I told Andrew this morning that I probably won't feel "normal" until the baby is about a year old. My body is going through some crazy stuff and will continue to feel awkward for quite awhile. Just gotta get used to it.
_______________________________________________________
Food Aversions & Stuff:
I miss healthy food. I miss it so much it hurts. I'm so tired of being a carb and cheese craving machine. When I'm on WW or following a healthy eating plan I'm always like "Man, I'd kill for (insert carby, nasty food here) right now." But now, I'd kill for a salad.... roasted vegetables.... raw fruit..... ANYTHING.
The way I am eating would make most people cringe. However, I still haven't gained any weight. BUT my clothes are getting super tight and my coat doesn't zip up right now... makes me feel gross. Haha. I wish I could stay at home all day and lounge in stretchy pants or pajamas. Oh, and no bra. I hate wearing a bra these days.

My food right now looks like this:
cheese sticks
plain bagels
rice chex cereal
skim milk
tortilla shells with cheese
sherbet
more milk
more cheese
cottage cheese
mac'n'cheese
plain pasta
cheese pizza
peaches

Yeah, that's my life right now. Again, I cannot stress how much I miss vegetables. It is also weird that certain smells can trigger my gag reflex. Smells that have never bothered me before now makes me incredibly ill.

I keep telling myself that in 4 more weeks I will (hopefully) get out of this stage and feel better. I just pray I'm not one of those people that is sick the entire time.
_______________________________________________________________
Here's a photo:

8 Weeks!
Sorry for the glare from the window. I wasn't going for perfect. Just wanted a shot to update my BabyBump App. 
Oh, and Andrew has decided to photo bomb every belly picture. Isn't he swell?

Again, feelings are: nauseous, tired, heartburn, food aversions, nauseous, sore boobs..... did I mention nauseous?

No comments:

Post a Comment