Thursday, January 2, 2014

My Car Was Not Made For This Weather

Seriously. My commute to work was awful. I drive an '08 Hyundai Elantra and even though I LOVE my car, I hate driving it when it snows like this. It has been snowing since yesterday at about 7:00pm and hasn't stopped. I don't mind snow, I really don't. I just HATE when the roads aren't clear. On my way to work I didn't even see one plow. Not one. I almost went off the road twice even though I was being super careful. It is just the way my car handles in the snow. I'm low to the ground and don't have 4-wheel drive. The drive home will not be much better if it doesn't stop this nonsense.
__________________________________________________________________
I hope everyone had a safe & happy new year! Andrew and I ended up going out to meet some friends for about an hour. We were home before 1:00 and neither one of us drank much. Andrew had two beers and I had one. We celebrated with a few of his childhood friends and then called it a night. We hadn't planned on going out but got asked to join them around 9:00. We didn't go until Andrew got off work at 11:00.

I wasn't able to have a proper New Year's kiss either because my cold sore still isn't completely gone. I fear giving one to Andrew so I always wait until there is barely any trace that it was there. It is almost to that point. THANK GOD. I'm tired of looking at it and not being able to wear lipstick.

I'm back at work today and again I feel strange because of having one random day off in the middle of the week. Just feels weird.....
__________________________________________________________________
Food & Stuff:
Nothing too crazy has been happening as far as my food goes. I have been doing really well lately and I contribute that to seeing a therapist and also trying something new to track food. I was so complacent with WeightWatchers since I had been doing it since I was 19 that it wasn't really exciting anymore. I felt that I knew everything there was to know and kind of got bored. Again, I still LOVE WeightWatchers but right now it isn't for me. Tracking calories has really made me more alert and aware of what I am putting into my body and I feel that I get to have treats a little more than I used to. I don't feel like I'm depriving myself of anything which is an amazing feeling. I was more cautious towards food on WeightWatchers (I really don't know why) and with calories I'm like "Well, this little piece of peppermint bark is only 70 calories. If I still want it in an hour, then I will have it because it will not derail my day." Sometimes I don't even eat it. I love that.
I also haven't had a binge in awhile. That is so wonderful to me. I love going to see Linda and saying "I didn't binge all week!" She is always very proud of my progress.
I haven't been gaining any weight either. I'm holding steady or dropping. I'm not yo-yoing and I'm ecstatic.

Today's Menu:
B: Peach Greek Yogurt, 2 HB Eggs, Coffee with peppermint mocha creamer
S: String Cheese
L: Vegetable Soup, Veggie Sandwich, 100 Calorie Pack of Cookies
S: Carrot Sticks
D: Tilapia, sweet potato, cauliflower
Activity: DDR

I've been bad about DDR. Just like I'm bad with all exercise. I seem to get home, let the dogs out and then I plop down on the couch and think about how I should work out without actually doing it. Then Andrew usually calls and I talk to him... and then before I realize it, it is after 6:00 and I want dinner.... so I eat... and then I have to let the food settle right? Well, then Andrew is home from work and all good intentions go out the window.

I just need to get home and DO IT. I need to let the dogs out, change my clothes and get it started up. No dilly-dallying.
_________________________________________________________________
Well, I don't have much else to update. It is just the ending of the weird work week and I'm ready to have a weekend and then get back to a much more normal schedule.

OH! Andrew officially has 6 more days of working at the EPA and then he is DONE! *does happy dance* I cannot wait for him to be done.

No comments:

Post a Comment