Monday, July 15, 2013

We are being tested....

So, my last post I mentioned that we had our fully funded emergency fund and ready to move on to Baby Step 2.
Well, a higher power apparently decided to put us to the test immediately after we were fully funded because this series of events happened all within a few days.

  1. Andrew's debit card was scammed
  2. Andrew's phone fell out of his pocket while it was pouring rain - fell into a puddle
  3. Andrew's car died. DIED. Like, wouldn't even start with a jump.
  4. Hyatt was puking blood Saturday morning
Now, the bank caught the scam immediately and the funds weren't actually taken from our account but they sat out there as "pending" until the bank cleared it. Still made me nervous though. Andrew's phone was immediately put into a bowl of rice but the thing still isn't working correctly and we were able to get one of my parent's old phones to give to him to use until we have an upgrade available. After the tow truck and mechanic inspecting Andrew's car, we found out that his audio equipment absolutely fried his battery and had caused some weird leak and smoke. We replaced the battery and paid for the tow which was right around $140.00. Not too bad! I was expecting worse. 
Hyatt was rushed to the vet and after being examined the vet still isn't sure what is wrong with him, but he did have a fever and is now on antibiotics (again) along with nausea medication and his thyroid medicine. He cost us a whopping $100. 

After all of this happened I looked at Andrew and said "You know, all of that stuff happening right on top of each other could have been really stressful and disastrous but since we had an emergency fund in place and we tackled one problem at a time, I was never really worried about any of it." 

That was the first time in my life that I didn't stop and go "How are we going to afford all of this?!" Now, Andrew and I have never really lived paycheck to paycheck; but the peace of mind we have right now is absolutely wonderful. I cannot even tell you how good it feels to know where all of your money is going and what it is like to have a fund strictly dedicated for crazy stuff that happens in life. I love it. 

Anywhoo....

WeightWatchers & Stuff:
Gah. Weeekend. Enough said. 

I did not track AT ALL and I did not take pictures of everything I ate like I have been doing. It amazes me how much Instagram actually keeps me accountable. I really need to make sure I do that constantly. And tracking, I don't know why it happens... but I just don't track like I should. I don't know if I think it is an annoyance or a bother or if I just don't want to fully admit what I am eating. I am going to go back today and try my best to track what I did eat. I basically remember everything because I didn't so much eat in between meals or anything. I just ate weird stuff at weird times. 

Today's food:
B: Shakeology with 1 c FF milk, coffee
S: String Cheese, Cherries
L: Frozen Dinner and a Chobani flip yogurt
S: Wheat thins, carrots and hummus
D: Chicken with basil and tomatoes (WW recipe) and 1/2 c brown rice 
Activity: TurboJam

I did have some good news this weekend though, I earned 5 APs without even really trying. I just moved a LOT and swam. I was happy that I got my movement in even if it wasn't planned exercise.  

No comments:

Post a Comment