Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Feeling Good & a Little Soul Searching

I really don't want to jinx it after the way my last week has gone (tummy issues) but today I feel the best I have all week. I think whatever is wrong with me is finally moving out.... and good riddance! I'm enjoying some wonderful Earl Grey tea with a smile on my face because life is good. I've also completed all of the work I had in my tray at the office and now I'm just waiting for the next thing to happen.
______________________________________________________________
Foodie Food & Fitness:
I am not going to lie, I was nauseous around 3:00 yesterday. I ate some saltine crackers and drank as much water as I could handle. When I got home from work the only thing that sounded good was broccoli or cauliflower. Weird right? I wanted boiled vegetables. I wanted them all smushy too. All I had in the freezer was cauliflower. I ate the whole bag. Then around 6:30 I decided that a baked potato sounded good and since I had baked all of my potatoes up already it was easy to enjoy one. So, I had a potato and cauliflower for dinner. I ate nothing else the rest of the night. Go me?

Today's Menu:
B: Special K cereal, 1 c. milk, tea
S: String Cheese
L: Baked potato with black beans and salsa, dark chocolate square
S: Cucumber slices
D: Spinach Tortellini Soup
I am going to make the soup without the turkey meatballs so it will just be a hearty spinach soup.

And yes, I know about the spinach recall that is going on and I have a list of the brands that are bad news. I will avoid them. I hope that the store has at least taken them off the shelf and put new out.... I won't be eating it raw though. I guess that's something right?

For activity I would like to do my DVD. I didn't last night because again, I was still nauseous. Hard to get motivated to do physical activity when every movement makes you feel like you're going to puke. I hope today is my day though. I'm tired of being a lazy waste of space.
__________________________________________________________
Other Things:
Ok, so maybe I wasn't a total waste of space last night. I spent over an hour practicing my violin. It isn't the same as my real violin but it still brings me the same joy. Since I live in an apartment, which I'm sure I've mentioned this before, I cannot play my actual violin. I have a Silent Violin. For those of you that don't know what that is, it is an electric violin that you can either plug headphones into or plug into an amp. Obviously me plugging it into an amp would defeat the purpose in the apartment. I play mine with headphones. It is not the best electric violin out there but it serves it purpose and fit my budget. I bought it over a year ago and it has definitely come in handy.



















After playing for awhile, I finally decided I was tired/sore enough and wanted to watch some famous violinists on YouTube. As I watch these professionals I think "When I play do I make it look that easy?" "How come I can't make that sound?" "Boy I wish I could play like that...."
I probably could if I practiced all of the time and made the violin my life's work. However, that is probably not in the cards for me. I still do wonder though if when I am playing if people go "She makes it look so easy!" Let me tell you, it isn't. The violin has a lot to do with hearing the right notes, knowing where your fingers go without even having to think about it and how you bow is super important. That right there is the greatest challenge of all. How you bow bascially defines how your instrument is going to sound. So yes, there is technique in know all of the finger positions, shifting, and vibrato.... but without proper bowing you don't have much.
I think I am too tense when I play. Why? I don't know. When I was with Yona at my lesson she kept pushing down on my right shoulder and then pushing my left wrist to make it relax. I don't know when I developed such a tense form when playing but I am working very hard to relax. My husband, bless his heart, calls me a show off and tells me how good I sound. I appreciate that more than I can say, however, I know I can be even BETTER.
One regret I do have in life is not going to Millikin for Music Business as I had planned. Why did I back out? I don't know. The cost? The pressure? Being away from home? Not knowing what I'd do after I graduated? Did my weight hold me back? When I got my acceptance letter to Millikin I cried. I jumped around the kitchen shoving the letter in my parent's faces and cried. I was so happy! I wish I could go back to that point and time when I went "Nope! Not going!" I had a schedule, a dorm room, had auditioned and received a music talent award for $3,000/semester, and was all registered. I backed out at the last possible minute. I.Don't.Know.Why.

Life has a funny way of working out though. People always say it's never too late either. I still have gone to school, in a non traditional setting, I met my husband and have shared a wonderful life with him so far, but what if? What if I went back for music? What if I continued to study? What if I could be a part of a big, professional symphony?

What if?

No comments:

Post a Comment